Ujian Pertemanan

I can’t help myself to not be ‘baper’ in the time like this. After pak Ahok got sentenced, the world seems darker than before. For some people, it’s like the dead of hope. For other people, they’re cheering because what they want is finally back to their hand. That’s how bad and ugly politic is.

But what made me more sad is in the situation like this, I have to agree that the strategy of ‘Divide et impera’ of the Dutch is really working. Even after 70s years Indonesian got independence.

Melihat orang terpecah antara kubu A, B, C, D etc dan saling memperebutkan ‘kebenaran’ membuat gue muak. Until, myself cross path with him. A very dear friend of mine who I just realised we stand on different groups. Berbeda pendapat adalah hal yang lumrah. Namun yang menyebalkan adalah ketika saling mempertentangkan kebenaran itu dan memaksakan kebenaran yang ia percaya. In the end, what hurts me most is… after he said to me to understand the both sides, then he just said “I don’t care with your opinion and political’s view”.

Salah seorang sahabat berkata, situasi ini adalah ujian pertemanan. Sampai di titik mana kamu menghargai level pertemanan kamu dengan mereka yang berbeda pendapat? Konyol kalau gara-gara ini pertemanan harus runyam. Konyol karena menurut saya ada hal yang jauh lebih penting untuk dijaga dibanding mendebatkan siapa yang benar atau salah. Misal: kestabilan politik Indonesia? pembangunan Indonesia yang sudah mencapai progres sejauh ini?
Honestly, situasi yang memanas belakangan ini baru seujung kuku. Semua ini hanya lah pemanasan sebelum pertarungan politik yang sesungguhnya di 2019.

When I said to you to spread the love because it hurts me to see that you spread the hate. But you argue to me it’s for “spread the truth”. What is the truth anyway? The truth that you believe is different from mine 😦
And the truth is I was not brave enough to said to you. But because I care to you and our ‘friendship’, I gave my argument to your opinion. It’s not about who’s right or wrong. It’s not about winning or losing in this debate. It’s about how I value our friendship, so I have to tell you in which group I’m in. And to be honest, I was curious with you reaction. I was wondering, how you will value our friendship? But perhaps, I just hope too much on you. You, who always said that you care to me. But, I think ‘care’ is not enough. And how the differences between us just made us separate more than before.

But, A, do you recognise that the world is getting darker right now? In this situation, what we have to do is winning our friendship instead of argue our differences. Just like what Dumbledore said:

“in the light of Lord Voldemort’s return, we are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided. Lord Voldemort’s gift for spreading discord and enmity is very great. We can fight it only by showing an equally strong bond of friendship and trust. Differences of habit and language are nothing at all if our aims are identical and our hearts are open.

I hope you do understand.

With love,

T

One thought on “Ujian Pertemanan

Leave a Reply

