How to Write a Purpose Statement for Scholarship

I may not be the smartest person nor the most high-qualified people. I made a thousand mistakes before I reached the point I am now. The only thing I have is persistent. I still remember a month ago, a friend of mine asked me if I don’t get the scholarship when will I stop? The answer is very clear: until I get it, whenever it is. I refuse to give up on my dream.

However, one thing I learned from this journey is being persistent is not enough. I have to fully prepare with (if possible) the best strategy. And luckily, I met Ferry, a friend from one of the ‘scholarship preparation group’. He taught me how to  set a ‘puzzle’. Imagine your life as a piece of puzzle, and you have to combine-compile-arrange it as one story to sell yourself. I just want to write one part from his story, for the complete part you wanna take a look to his blog here.

Processed with VSCO with kk2 preset

 

Many people asked: how to get a scholarship? There are MANY answers to that kind of question. But the most important thing is before you apply to any scholarship, you should have a clear future plan. By defining it will help you to define your propose study. Usually, people think the propose study will define your future, however, your future plan will help you to choose the right education (or any requirement e.g work experience or skills) for you.

As you can see that the order to define it starts from: 1) S1 (undergraduate study); 2) Work Experience; 3) Future Plan (you can divide it into two or three section, e.g next 5 years, 15 years and 20 years); 4) S2 (master degree).

You can describe and explain what you already done or you may do (in the future) in the ‘WHAT’ column. Furthermore, you can write several list of skills you already gained or (hope) will gain in the ‘SKILLS’ column.

For example:

Let say, there is someone named Dita.

At S1, she took Law as her my major, active in several organisations (student executive body as vice-head of social service department and law student association for legal practice), and her minor focus on child and internet protection law. She also got a scholarship from the university. Several skills she gained are have a basic-intermediate knowledge about criminal law theories, basic skills to academic writing, organization skills, team-work, communication skills, etc.

While her work experience as a researcher about law aspect in new start-up digital business in Indonesia helps her to obtained skills on research to support policy advice and advisory skills on legal aspect for new start-up digital in Indonesia.

In the future, she would love to greater her role not only as a researcher in her current organization but willing to expertise in law and digital technology. She really aware that internet become the biggest part of our life and in Indonesia the legal aspect relating digital technology/internet is still developing. Since the area is really dynamic.

For her master degree, she found a major that really suitable to her interest that will support her goal: Master of Laws in Advanced Studies in Law and Digital Technologies at Leiden University.  In this major she will learn several courses such as: 1) Regulating the internet; 2) Online privacy and data protection; 3) Digital government; 4) Digital child rights. By taking the major, she will deepen her knowledge and skills regarding the area of internet protection law. Moreover, she could propose a suitable regulation for Indonesia after learn from other countries’ experience and sharing ideas with her colleague.

Voila! I already finished a propose mapping plan for my sister. 😀

The map above really helpful (at least for me). It’s not only to write your answer for (any kind of) question while you’re applying for scholarship but also to make a structure answer for interview session when you’re shortlisted.

Have a nice weekend, everyone.

6 thoughts on “How to Write a Purpose Statement for Scholarship

  1. Hi Mbak Tammi, glad to find you here. We met in AAI PDT, though I’m not sure you remember me 🙂 Sorry for “stalking”, but I incidentally found this post and it hooked me. Connecting the links between any skills we gained are the most important thing, as you said. One thing to remember, sometimes we need to wait long enough to complete “the dots” — it also happened to me when I failed on another scholarship process last year. I feel you Mbak :” Thank you for sharing about this, keep writing, and good luck for everything in the future!

    • Hi Atika.. Thank you for stop by and left a message here 🙂 it’s very nice of you. And yes, you know me so well because I couldn’t remember you :” sorry my short-term memory loss. Hope we could meet again in the future (which class are you in?) in Indonesia or Australia. And Goodluck for your future too 😊😊😊

    • Halo Yunisazahrah.. Thank you for your comment. Sayangnya saya ga pernah bikin list tentang beasiswa yg saya coba/tidak coba euy. Cuman beberapa sudah saya tulis di blog ini sih dan ada beberapa yang belum sempat di posting. Happy reading ya 😊

Leave a Reply

